Leaders from Across the State Support Tabke

Former Minneapolis Mayor R.T. Rybak and elected leaders from across Minnesota lead host committee formed to elect former Shakopee Mayor to State House

Elected city leaders, including mayors, commissioners, and city councilors across Minnesota have joined together to support Brad Tabke’s campaign for State Representative in District 55A. The host committee is inviting the public to join them Wednesday, Sept. 26 at Finnegans Taproom in downtown Minneapolis to show support for the former Shakopee mayor. Tabke’s campaign is centered on strengthening the voice of local government at the state level by working collaboratively.

“At the Legislature, I want to help focus our state government on the future for all of us and our next generations,” Tabke said. “To accomplish this, our State government must give power back to local governments. This is where the best decisions can be made— closest to the people. Local entities must have a voice on policy and how to best spend our hard-earned dollars.” 

Tabke served two terms as mayor of Scott County’s largest city. He was elected in 2011 and reelected in 2013. He defeated a four-term incumbent with 54 percent of the vote and he was reelected with 65 percent of the vote when facing a long-time city councilmember.

“During my time as mayor I was open to connecting with anyone who was willing to work hard to find solutions that were a win for them and a win for Shakopee. It never mattered where they were from, what they wanted to accomplish, or what party they represented. We worked together for the betterment of our community.

This skill of collaborative governing is one of the most important things I want to bring to the Minnesota House,” Tabke said.

With Tabke as mayor, working with citizens, businesses, and elected officials, Shakopee experienced economic growth and attracted thousands of new jobs at prominent corporations including Amazon, Emerson, Bayer, and Shutterfly.

The host committee, which continues to grow, includes:

  • City of Minneapolis former Mayor R.T. Rybak
  • Minnesota District 58 Senator and City of Lakeville former Mayor Matt Little
  • City of Bemidji Mayor Rita Albrecht
  • Carver County Commissioner Randy Maluchnik
  • City of Dayton former Mayor Doug Anderson
  • City of Duluth former Mayor Don Ness
  • City of Eagan Mayor Mike Maguire
  • City of Edina Mayor Jim Hovland
  • City of Elko-New Market Mayor Bob Crawford
  • Hennepin County Commissioner Linda Higgins
  • City of Inver Grove Heights Mayor George Tourville
  • City of Isanti Mayor George Wimmer
  • City of Le Sueur former Mayor Robert Broeder
  • City of Plymouth Councilor Judy Johnson
  • City of Prior Lake Councilor Kevin Burkart
  • City of St Paul Councilor Chris Tolbert
  • City of Savage Mayor Janet Williams
  • City of Shakopee Councilor Kathi Mocol
  • City of Shakopee Councilor Jay Whiting
  • City of Shoreview Mayor Sandy Martin
  • City of White Bear Lake Mayor Jo Emerson

Finnegans Taproom is located at 817 5th Ave S. Minneapolis, Minn. 55404. The event runs from 5 to 7 P.M. with opening remarks from Rybak beginning at 5:30. More information can be found at www.TabkeForMN.com/Events.

Donation levels: $1,000 | $250 | $100 | $50
Make checks payable to Tabke for MN, 1584 Harvest Lane, Shakopee, MN 55379
Donate online at TabkeforMN.com/Donate

Facebook Event

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *